Thanksgiving 2014

This year has been an interesting one to say the least. It is easy to come up with things to be thankful for when things are going well, but I will often try to find the things to be thankful for when things are not going well as it puts things in perspective and brings me hope for the future.

Today, I would like to share how I am thankful despite some really difficult things that have gone on in my life and in the world. God works in mysterious ways, but good things can come from the bad.

1. BEING FIRED

Being released from employment was unexpected to say the least, but now, I am enjoying a new business, Renewed Strength Veterinary Services, LLC, that allows me to travel around the world and help people and animals in varied places as well. Don’t get me wrong, the rejection still hurts, but spending a month on a tropical island for work rather than in the cold of Wisconsin sure does help!

2. HEALTH ISSUES

I have had some gastrointestinal issues since returning from Mongolia. It has not been pleasant. These issues resulted in my needing a colonoscopy earlier this week. I had two polyps removed that came back as precancerous. I am thankful that they were found and removed as the recommendation for initial colonoscopy is at age 50 when you have no family history of problems. In 14 years, I likely would have had colon cancer. I now have the knowledge that I need to help protect myself and my family from this potentially devastating disease.

3. FERGUSON

My last post already touched on this and it has not directly effected my life in Wisconsin. I am thankful that a dialogue has continued in a larger context. I am thankful that many people that may not have thought about race and cultural issues in our country before are now thinking and talking, and most importantly acting upon the need for change.

4. NATURAL DISASTERS

Here is another area that has not touched me directly, but natural disasters bring people together to support each other and to comfort each other. There is pain and loss, but there is so much more that can come forth. It is for this unity that prospers that I am thankful.

I have many others problems, and many other thanksgivings, but now, I have to go and make some more cranberry applesauce for Thanksgiving with my family.

How have you been blessed this year?, s

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2014

  1. I’m so glad you get to spend time with your family. I’m glad you got fired, I think you have potential to be MUCH happier, it sounds like you are well on your way. Yikes on the colon polyps. I’m so grateful that you developed some issues that led to discovering and removing them. It’s easy to think about a lot of other frivolous details in life, but we all need to step back and look at the big picture more often than we do. Thanks for sharing, happy thanksgiving.

    P.S. I’m thankful for good friends, health, family, pets, and the ability to basically do whatever I damn well please. Life is good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

