NaNoWriMo 2014

Earlier this week, I decided to do something that may be crazy. No, I will amend that, it is crazy.

I signed up for NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month.

Participant-2014-Web-Banner (2)

The goal is to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November. That is writing an average of 1,666 words per day.

Why did I do this? I really don’t know. Possibly because it could be fun. Possibly because I am just a glutton for punishment. Partially because I like to challenge myself. My writing experience pretty much consists of this blog, some newspaper “Ask-A-Vet” articles a couple years back, medical records, and English papers when I was in school. There was very little creative writing in any of it.

I have “adopted a plot” from someone that liked the idea, but couldn’t make it happen. No one else seemed interested, so I will take it for a spin and see how it goes. Someday, I will come up with my own plot. Please leave me encouragement and ideas – who knows, they may end up in the novel.

Apparently, if you complete the challenge, there are groups that will help you publish. Who knows, maybe that will be another item for my resume some day. Oh, that would be fun and completely out of my area of expertise!

Take care!

Don’t forget to share your ideas, characters, plot twists, or whatever with me!

Leave a Reply

