Six Weeks to Go

In six weeks, I will be on my way to Mongolia. I have felt a sense of peace since I signed up for this trip. A sense that this is what I am supposed to be doing. I gave myself the goal of raising $10,000 to cover all of the expenses related to the trip and have almost reached it. I am not worried about it though. I know that everything that I need will be provided. I have been going over and over in my head what I will teach and share about veterinary medicine and about myself – as a veterinarian, as a Christian, as a person.

I by nature am an introvert, I recharge with time alone to read a book, to watch television, to walk, to just be present in life (and sometimes to detach from it). I have horrible stage fright, yet when I get up in front of a group, the words flow. I trust that the words that need to be heard are the words that are shared. A number of weeks ago, I shared about my upcoming journey at Church. I had a basic idea of what I wanted to say, but didn’t really have anything planned out (which is also not like me…I plan just about everything!) Since then, I have come across people around town that tell me how much listening to me meant to them. One gentleman stopped me and asked if I had been on television. I said that I was not aware of being on television, but I guess it is possible. He then started telling me how I looked exactly like this woman that is going on a mission trip overseas.  When I told him that I was, we really started to try and figure out where he had seen me. It turns out, he was at the church service that I spoke about the mission. It is the one and only time he ever attended that church. We then sat for almost an hour discussing God and our journeys. I ran into him again earlier this week and he asked me about Mongolia. I told him I hadn’t left yet, but will be leaving soon. Some other people were sitting nearby and we began talking about travel and culture. He ducked his head and appeared to be taking a nap. This trip has given me a new way to interact with people, that I never expected.

I have been praying that God is able to use me. To be His hands and feet on earth. To share all that He has given to me with those that want or need to hear. I ask that you keep me in your thoughts and prayers as well. Pray that the words and the lessons come. Pray that I listen as much, if not more, that I speak. As Matthew West’s song says, “It’s time for us to do something!”

 

2 thoughts on “Six Weeks to Go

  1. Hi,Good Luck on your trip. I am sure i’ll be seeing you before you leave as i have adopted another dog. After losing Toby i was so mad because we were so close and crying didn’t make the pain go away so i adopted Molly and trust me she still is a handful at times. Maggie and her are doing pretty good together so I am happy for that they do have their moments. So onto your message about doing something I thought what better way to honor Toby was to do what i could to help so i adopted Sam. He is 7 1/2 yrs old and i had been watching him on the humane society web site and when i asked why nobody had adopted him it was maybe because of age because people look for younger pets. I guess that is how i am trying in my way to do something for me and for Toby and to help people to realize pets that are older still have a heart.

    Like

    • Thank you, Kay. Your support means a lot to me. Thank you for taking Sam into your home. I can’t wait to meet him! Older pets can be amazing additions to homes, but it does take someone special that is willing to put forth everything needed for an older pet without receiving the amount of time you expect from a young pet. Blessings to you, Kay!

      Like

Leave a Reply

