Don, the Marshfield Man

I recently asked people to give me ideas of what to write about in hopes that I would be inspired. Luckily, one of the requests I received was to write about my life and the people in it.  It just so happens that I was given the idea and a person stood out to me.

Don, the Marshfield Man

Don is a really nice guy that happens to be a currier for Marshfield Laboratories. Anyone that has met him while on his rounds is sure to know his signature saying, “Have a great day, because…” and you reply, “it’s a GREAT day to have!” He is always cheerful and energetic. A couple of weeks ago, he pulled me aside and said, “Oh, Dr. Melanie, I have missed seeing you. I have something for you.” He then pulled out a $20.00 bill to go toward my upcoming mission trip. I was honored and blessed by his generosity. We had spoken a couple months ago about my trip and he asked for information. I gave him a handout that I had made and didn’t think much more about it.

Yesterday, while he was waiting for one of the technicians to bring up the sample he was picking up, he asked me how I was doing. I told him I was doing fine, but not with a lot of enthusiasm.

He looked at me closely and said, “Is that all?”

I then smiled and said, “No, I am doing great. Life is good right now.”

He smiled back and said that he wanted to share some Bible verses with me. Don then went on to quote Nehemiah 1:5 “Then I said: “Lord, the God of heaven, the great and awesome God, who keeps his covenant of love with those who love him and keep his commandments…” (NIV) and then Genesis 1:27 “So God created mankind in his own image…” (NIV). “God is awesome and He made all mankind, and womankind, in His image,” Don continued, “So, that tells us, we are all…”

“Awesome,” I replied.

“That’s right! If we just remember that, then how can we ever have a bad day?”

We both smiled as Mary brought up the sample to be taken away. As Don headed out the door, he exclaimed, “Have a great day, because…”

“It’s a GREAT day to have!” I proclaimed back.

This man has made me smile on many a day with his reminder of the blessings to be had in each day, even when everything appears to be falling down around us. The joy that he takes in driving around the state with samples from veterinary clinics for diagnostic testing is amazing. I have never seen him glum or sad. He takes pleasure in the kind words and deeds of others. I have never heard him utter a harsh word, but rather always words of encouragement when he sees someone is having a rough day. His seemingly eternal happiness may bring irritation to some, but for me, I am reminded that life is good and we are all made awesome in the image of God.

Thank you, Don, for being an inspiration. Thank you, God, for bringing a little piece of Your awesomeness into my life in the form of Don, the Marshfield Man!

2 thoughts on “Don, the Marshfield Man

Leave a Reply

