Praises and Thanks

I know that there is still much going on in the world that brings sadness and that weighs down my heart, but today, I want to share some happiness, praises, and thanks!

It has been 1 year since I signed up with WordPress and started my blog. So much has happened and I have written more than I expected to. There are still many thoughts in my head that may make it to the screen! Thank you for supporting this endeavor and following along – there are 61 of you! Not to mention the joy in finishing the A to Z Blogging Challenge in April! A2Z survivor badge 2014Last month, in my Teratoma post, I shared Sam’s story about his brain tumor. For the past year, we have had concerns about one of the cysts in his brain growing. Yesterday, he had another MRI to check the status of the cyst. Thankfully, the cyst has not grown, apparently last year the MRI took a slightly different “slice” which caused the cyst to appear larger, and he does not need to have another brain surgery! This is wonderful news.

My little sister and her family are also visiting from England for the next week (they arrive today!) and I am so excited to see them. It has been almost a year since I saw them. This will also be the first time I will see them since they announced that they will be having another baby (a boy) later this year – most likely while I am in Mongolia. One of the main reasons she is coming home is to celebrate the wedding of my other “little sister” that looks more like me than my biological sister. I am excited for Nici’s wedding as well next week.

Liam is recovering!

Liam is recovering!

Liam, from the Urea Cycle Disorder post is doing well overall. There have been some bumps in the road and he needed another surgery to adjust some feeding tubes, but he is getting stronger. There is still a long way to go, but the little guy is a fighter that shows so much love. I continue to keep the entire family in my prayers. There is still a long way to go and they need a lot of financial help to cover expenses. Please consider helping out at http://cota.donorpages.com/PatientOnlineDonation/COTAforLiamL/. I know the family would greatly appreciate it.

Two families that had tragedy strike at the end of April have received a lot of support and are slowly starting to pull their lives back together. The Griebel family lost Josh and Monica – parents of 5 children – in a car accident on April 25, 2014. There has been an out pouring of support in the way of supplies and items. Financially, they still need a lot of help. The Griebel Fabulous Five, account has been set up to help the longer term needs of the children. Thus far, they have only received about $23,000 and so much more is needed for these 5 children ranging in age from about 16 months to 13 years of age. The other family, the Dorresteijn’s, lost Shari and Bram from a car accident on April 24th. Left behind were two children, ages 2 months and 2 years. The support has been great with the Shari and Bram Dorresteijn Memorial Fund, but the children can always use more support. Please keep both families in your prayers.

I am thankful for my “new” job that I celebrated my 1 year anniversary at on Tuesday. It has been an interesting time and I have met some wonderful people. Thank you for helping me continue this journey we call life!

Sunday is also Mother’s Day in the United States. Thanks for being there for me and giving birth to me, Mom. I wouldn’t be here today without you! 🙂 To all the moms or mother figures out there (even if the child is not from your own body), I salute you!

Leave a Reply

