Reflection on April and the A to Z Challenge

The past month has been a crazy one. After signing up for the A to Z Challenge, I was very excited to put together a great list of diseases and write about them. The list making was easy as were many of the posts. I enjoy bringing knowledge to people who want to learn more. I learned quite a bit myself as well. Some of my posts were very emotional for me. I cried and relived experiences that have changed who I am and how I see the world.

I have enjoyed learning about other people lives and visiting far off lands via the blogs of others. I firmly believe that the only way we can improve our world is to become more connected. To build communities based not on always agreeing, but on mutual respect and caring. This blogging challenge may not seem like it would make that happen, but it does. To know what makes someone tick in India, what makes someone happy in Sweden, to know the sadness and fear in Venezuela brings us closer together. Anything that helps us to feel empathy and to inspire change in our lives is a good thing in my humble opinion.

Outside of the blogging challenge, a lot of things happened. Tragedy struck many people and touched the periphery of my life. I am thankful that the tragedies were not in my family, but my heart aches specifically for two families that lost the parents leaving 7 children to be raised by their aunts and uncles. The continued violence around the world. The natural disasters that have brought devastation to many lives. Jobs lost, jobs gained. Birth, death. Happiness, sadness. Elation, depression. The world continued to spin and lives were changed.

I am thankful that I took part in this challenge. I am grateful that I gained a new appreciation for writing and for the world and people around me. I am pleased that people liked my posts and commented. I hope that I will have more to say and that people will come back.

I don’t know what life has in store for me, but I welcome whatever challenges are ahead.

Thank you for your support and on this Star Wars Day, May the Fourth be with you!

A2Z survivor badge 2014

13 thoughts on “Reflection on April and the A to Z Challenge

  1. I really enjoyed your posts during the A to Z challenge. Congrats on finishing! YAY! I am sorry I could not come back as often as I liked. The whole thing is always so overwhelming with the numbers of participants and trying to visit new blogs on top of the return visitors to my own site. Plus all the time lost working and taking care of what needs to be taken care of. Ugh!

    Jamie Dement (LadyJai)
    Be Positive in Life and Writing
    Caring for My Veteran

    Like

    • Thanks. There are so many good things that the challenge brings. Yes, there can be stress, but really only if you allow it to. On days that work went late or I was too stressed out, I didn’t visit as many blogs. On days when things were a little lighter, I visited a ton. Having the majority of my posts pre-written and scheduled was also helpful at the beginning. I didn’t have nearly as many put together later on, but did have more stories from other people, so I was doing more editing than writing. Overall, I think it was a great experience!

      Like

  2. Stopping by on the A to Z road trip. I can see from the posts I read that you hold respect in high esteem. I join you in that. I love your reflections. You are so right. Learning about the hopes and fears, joys and calamities in the lives of others around the world helps us have more empathy and respect. May be all appreciate those who have fallen to secure peace and work for it ourselves. God bless, Maria @ delightdirectedliving.blogspot.com/

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Maria. Your words are kind. Respect is a wonderful thing that unfortunately is easily destroyed and difficult to rebuild, but so easy to give freely if one opens themselves up to it. I have taken a quick glance at your site and am impressed thus far. I will be commenting soon! Have a blessed day and year to come. Also, thank you for reminding me about the Road Trip. Life and work has been pretty crazy and I haven’t had a chance to visit too many blogs that I have missed or revisit those that I have enjoyed so much.

      Like

Leave a Reply

