Z is for Zoonotic Diseases

Z is for Zoonotic Diseases

A to Z 2014

A to Z 2014

This is my final 2014 A to Z Blogging Challenge posting. Today we will come full circle as many of my topics have been zoonotic diseases.  It has been an interesting and informative month for me, I hope it has been for you!

zoonotic disease is a disease that is transferred from animals to people either directly from saliva, urine, feces, or tissues to vector transmission (ticks, mosquitoes) to ingesting infected food or beverage. This past month zoonotic diseases have been discussed at length here at “Days In the Life of A Christian Veterinarian” including: Anthrax, Ebola, Tularemia, Giardia, Leptospirosis, Monkeypox, Q Fever, Rabies, West Nile Virus, and Yersinia pestisBlastomycosis was also discussed, although technically isn’t really a zoonotic disease, as it is a fungus from the environment, but can be spread with animal contact (beaver dams, etc.). There are many more out there, so please keep educating yourself. You can speak with your human medical doctor and/or your veterinarian about what is common in your area. You can get a lot of great information on the Center for Disease Control and Mayo Clinic websites, there is even an A to Z listing of many animal transmitted diseases on the Washington State Department of Health website. Be cautious when doing generic internet searches though as there is a lot of misinformation or out there.

Red-eyed Frogs (Photo Credit: Scott Robinson)

Red-eyed Frogs (Photo Credit: Scott Robinson)

To bring you back to A, I would like to introduce a term that is not commonly used: anthroponosis – infection spreading from humans to other animals. Some people just call this revere zoonosis, but really that is not nearly as much fun! An example of this, is when you handle a frog with your bare hands (no gloves) you can transmit a fungus from your skin to the frog causing the disease Chytridiomycosis. Many people have commented their surprise at the diseases we have discussed and their detriment to people. This disease that we spread has decimated and caused extinction of amphibian populations around the globe.

Boots and I bid you Farewell, and hope to see you again!

Boots and I bid you adieu, and hope to see you again!

Thank you for joining me this past month, and I hope you visit again. I may not write as often, but will update when I feel like I have something of value to say, or at least just need to share. I appreciate feedback, likes, comments, and shares! I am more than happy to answer generic questions, but will always recommend that you see or speak with your veterinarian or doctor for specific information. For me to give out specific diagnostic and treatment advice could potentially result in the lose of my veterinary license, so please don’t make that a problem for me (or any medical professional in the blogosphere).

Photo Credit:

Red Eyed Frogs: Scott Robinson via Photopin.com under Creative Commons Licenses

7 thoughts on “Z is for Zoonotic Diseases

    • Thank you for stopping by even if it is the end! Congratulations to you as well. This has been a rough month, but I must say, I did enjoy it! Please have a restful holiday and some time away from the keyboard! 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: Saint George Vet: Issues |

Leave a Reply

