What can one person do?

Tonight is a big night for me.

Tonight is my major fundraiser for my mission to Mongolia.

Last night, I tossed and turned. Dreams waking me as I worried about what would happen. Would people enjoy themselves? Would I be able to raise enough money to really make this trip happen? I prayed every time I woke up (which was a lot), that the doubts would go away, that I could get a good nights rest so I could be the person God needs me to be today and the rest of my life. I was finally able to get about 2 hours of sleep in a row and woke up amazingly refreshed, although much earlier than I usually get up.

I began with the plans for the day. Getting the final details put together. Arranging the silent auction items so that it would be quick to transport when it is time to head out to church. Then focusing on my presentation to go with tonight’s meal.

I know that I can not do it all alone. I have many friends that have helped me through the maze of fundraising that is so far outside of my comfort zone, I don’t know what zone I am in. Most importantly, I have God. I know that when I follow His will for me, by my own free will to do so, the seemingly impossible can be achieved.

What can One Person do?

7 thoughts on “What can one person do?

    • Thanks, Melissa. I am doing well. I just got in from more prep, and will be heading back in about 45 minutes. I am excited! I am so blessed to be surrounded by people that care about me. I just want to be that person for others!

      Like

  1. Thank you to everyone that has supported me in this adventure! Tonight we brought in over $1,700 and many prayers. It was from generosity of so many. I still have a ways to go, so please, consider a donation – you can learn more about how to donate under the “Mission to…” heading!

    Like

  2. Wow, Melanie… This is quite an enterprise. Kudos to you for even attempting it, and I have every certainty you’ll achieve it. Not being religious I don’t speak of faith or prayer, but I do believe good work creates its own energy, its own momentum. You’ll get there, and (now that I’ve found you) I’ll be cheering for you. Please do post an update when you can!
    Guilie @ Life In Dogs

    Like

    • Guilie – Thank you for your kind words. One of the wonderful things I have learned over time is that life is for the giving and sharing. I find that peace and encouragement through my faith, but I know it is not where everyone is in their lives. Your support means a lot to me. One of the things that I love about my work is that I can do it with my faith being my guide and I don’t have to “shove it” onto people. My work speaks for itself – at least I hope it does! I will certainly update as I am able. I don’t leave until later this year, but will share the adventure. – Melanie

      Like

Leave a Reply

