Compassion Fatigue

I just wanted to leave a quick message for everyone that I am still around, but have needed to take a break to find some time to heal. In the past couple of weeks, I have had some of the most painful days professionally and am suffering heavily from compassion fatigue. I hope to be back soon in a mindset that will honor God and the people and world around me. For now, I am just trying to make it through the day without crying in front of everyone I see. I bring this up not for sympathy, but to bring awareness to the general public about compassion fatigue and also those that struggle with depression and pain that worsens this time of year.

Please take the time to check on those around you. This year I am finding more and more people that are struggling just to make it through the day. Stress from the holidays, depression, loneliness, death, and so many more things are pulling people down. If you are being pulled down, please find help to be comforted and supported. If you are doing great and standing strong, please be the shoulder or the hand up that someone else may need.

For those of you that have experienced loss this year or that this is the first holiday season without your loved one, my heart and prayers are with you. Know that you are not alone.

I pray that you find comfort and peace.

3 thoughts on “Compassion Fatigue

  1. Hang in there my friend. I understand compassion fatigue. I haven’t worked since June and the thought of working as a veterinarian makes me very depressed (still). Please take the time you need to feel better, seek the help of a psychologist or other professional if needed. Can be really nice to have a third party to talk to.

    Like

    • Thanks. I am taking the time between work and everything else. This time around it is just taking longer than usual. I know that with time the pain, disappointment, and exhaustion will lessen and I will carry on for another day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

