Be Betty

“Happiness cannot be traveled to, owned, earned, or worn. It is the spiritual experience of living every minute with love, grace & gratitude.” – Denis Waitley

As a Christian, as a veterinarian, and as a person, there are always days that I am upset about not being “good enough.” I make mistakes, I lose my temper. I do not love the way I “should.” There are days that no matter what I do, it seems that I do it “wrong” according to one person or another, and sometimes that person is myself. Then there are other days. Days that I feel like I am doing everything “right.” I save a life. I love others and myself. I help others with no expectation of repayment. More often, there are days that are a combination of highs and lows, with a good dose of not much going on. I think these days are my favorite.

I recently had a day where I felt like I was just going along, doing my work, happy, but not giddy, content that life was good. Things were a little slow at work for me, and an elderly woman came into the clinic. This woman needed to have a test run on her pet, but we had never seen her or her pet before at our clinic. One of the technicians in our clinic asked me to speak to the woman, I shall call her Betty. Betty then shared her story with me. She was a chemotherapy patient and her pet was having some problems, we needed to make sure that the pet didn’t have any parasites that could potentially make Betty very sick. Her husband was also ill. Her son and his family had moved from another state to help care for the two of them. She elaborated on her medical condition and shared that she felt guilty about her son and his family moving everything to take care of her. She was so sweet and kind. I realized that she needed someone to share her story, to not judge her, and to just be there. So, I was there. We had a delightful conversation while we waited for the test results. We each shared stories from our lives. It turns out that Betty would turn 75 the next day. I was happy to tell her that her pet’s tests came back in her favor – no parasites were found! She thanked me for my time and told me how thankful she was that I was there. She looked me in the eye and said, “God bless you.” I returned the prayer.

Later that day, Betty called with some questions, and I was happy to speak with her. As we were getting off the telephone, she said, “Thank you for being here. I am so thankful that God brought you into my life. I will be sure to tell everyone I know that you are here.” Betty expressed her gratitude so kindly. I honestly felt that I had done very little, but that she had blessed my life. The entire day and the days to follow, Betty’s kind words and smile, her encouragement and support brought a smile to my face and joy to my soul.

This was one of my “God Moments.” A moment that was completely unexpected. A moment that brought a new person into my life. A chance to share a part of myself and receive the gift of someone else’s inner thoughts. I pray that you have a Betty in your life this week. I also pray that you are the Betty in someone else’s week. Take the time to meet someone new and be there for them, or perhaps meet someone that you have known for awhile for the very first time. God will put you in the right place at the right time if your heart is open to see the opportunity.

One thought on “Be Betty

Leave a Reply

