10 Years and Half Our Lives

Today, I am blessed to celebrate 10 years of marriage to my husband and best friend. To top that off, 17 years ago today, we started “officially” dating – we were 17. We have been very blessed to live our lives together and have grown stronger in our

love and faith together.

Classic wedding vows often include “to have and to hold, from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, until death do us part.” To be honest, I don’t remember the specific words that we used, although I could go back and watch our wedding video to see (thanks Carrie!). That being said, I know that our vows were something like this and it was said with all of the love in our hearts. I meant every word and the sentiment is still engraved in my heart and soul. Little did I know 10 years ago, that all of the love and faith behind those words would be what has held us together over the years. We have been poorer, are saving regularly to be richer, we have both been both our best and worst selves at one time or another, and sickness has strengthened our love and our faith.

I am so blessed to know that we are in this crazy life together. You help me be a better person.

Congratulations to many of my friends that also share this day with us – I have at least 3 friends that married their spouses on this day 10 years ago as well. May you each be as happy and blessed as we have been!

To all of our friends and family that joined us 10 years ago, we thank you for being there with us then and for supporting us for the past decade.

Andy and I at our wedding, July 2003

Andy and I at our wedding, July 2003

Leave a Reply

