My Daddy

Today is Father’s Day. A day to make sure that we thank our fathers that are with us or have already left this earth. I am blessed to have a father on earth that has loved and accepted me. That has taught me to be a kind and caring person. To live life with compassion and a sense of humor. To not expect accolades for a job well done, for that job well done is reward enough. To do the best job I can, be the best person I can, and to encourage others to be their best as well. My dad taught me to dance, to drive a car, and he has even done my hair and make up for me (still not my forte).

There are many great times that I have had with my dad, but some of the best revolve around music and dancing. “My Heart Belongs to Daddy,” Father-Daughter dances at my high school, Divine Savior Holy Angels High School, were always a special time. We would dress up, have a fancy meal, and dance the night away. This past year, we had the Alumni Father-Daughter Dance (“My Heart Still Belongs to Daddy”) and my dad won the Top Pop Award!

Dad and I in limo on the way to the Alumni Father-Daughter Dinner Dance "My Heart Still Belongs to Daddy"

Dad and I in limo on the way to the Alumni Father-Daughter Dinner Dance “My Heart Still Belongs to Daddy”

My dad has a special talent where he can speak and sneeze like Donald Duck. It is guaranteed to bring a smile to the face of anyone around – especially kids, even in the middle of a melt down. The one thing to remember is when his jokes get to corny, not to laugh…it just encourages him. (Don’t tell him, but I still laugh because he cracks me up!)

Dad has always been a funny guy...he has "mad skills."

Dad has always been a funny guy…he has “mad skills.”

When each of my sisters and I got married, we made sure to have our Father-Daughter dance. Jolene, my oldest sister, and dad danced to “Butterfly Kisses.”

Kayla, my little sister, and dad danced to “Cinderella” by Steven Curtis Chapman. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_x-XyTUbkF4

Dad and I danced to “Tough Little Boys” by Gary Allan http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8l_cCKLHRoo This song touched on so many topics for us. My dad severed in the US Navy during Vietnam, I did have some strawberry-blonde curls for my wedding…my hair is normally stick straight, and when our dog Yeller died, Dad cried for the first time for all of those in his life that he had lost. Yeller was my best friend, my Forever Dog.

Dad and I dancing at my wedding, July 19, 2003.

Dad and I dancing at my wedding, July 19, 2003.

Thank you, Paul Metz, for showing me that the love of a father is so wonderful. Thank you for showing me just a small portion of the love that my Father in Heaven has for me. You are a blessing and an inspiration to many people, not just your kids. Thank you for being there for us all.

I love you, Daddy!!

Also, lots of love to my husband, Andy. “Father” of our “son,” Boots. I love you guys, too!

Andy and I at our wedding, July 2003

Andy and I at our wedding, July 2003

Boots, after kicking Andy off of the couch (where Boots is not supposed to be)

Boots, after kicking Andy off of the couch (where Boots is not supposed to be)

Leave a Reply

