Futures: My Prayer For You

This weekend as our nation celebrates our freedoms and remembers those that have died to provide that freedom, I am blessed to celebrate so many things. I would like a moment to share some of these things. These are all “God Moments” to me! For those that have lost their lives and for those that are left behind, you are not alone. You are loved, cared for, and not forgotten. I pray that you know all of these things.

Yesterday was the graduation of Northland College (www.northlandcollege.edu) Class  of 2013. I remember well the sense of accomplishment 12 years ago, as I celebrated that achievement. My prayer for all of these graduates is that you have found your passion, that you will move forward and make a difference in the world around you – near and far. You each have a gift to bring to yourself and to the world.

Today, my husband and I will attend the joining of two friends in marriage. Elise and Lincoln are two of the most caring and inspirational people I have ever met. I wish them joy as they begin a new phase of their life together. My prayer for Elise and Lincoln is that they hold onto each other and to God when they are celebrating, struggling, grieving, and living. There is no perfect marriage or a perfect person, but you have found the perfect fit for each other. I have seen you stand together even when far apart. Hold onto that passion, even when life seems to have settled you into an “old routine.”

Today is also the graduation of my cousin’s daughter, Julia, from high school. I wish that I could be there to let her know how much she is loved and how proud the entire family is of the work she has done in some very difficult times. Julia, you are a wonderful, intelligent, and beautiful person inside and out. You have strength and determination, empathy and compassion. My prayer for you is that you recognize how wonderful you are and that no matter what is going on in the world, you are first in God’s eyes. I pray that you rest in the peace and comfort God provides, and you continue to share your faith with those around you.

I celebrate birthdays and anniversaries this week – close friends and family alike. There are so many to name, I just can’t do it, but you know who you are. Without you in my life, I could not be the person that I am today. For each of you, I say a prayer of thanksgiving that you are in my life. I pray that you continue to be wonderful and caring people, that your wishes are granted and that you continue to be blessed.

I celebrate the lives saved during severe weather this past week and mourn for those lost. I cannot say why things happen the way they do, but I believe that even in times of trial and pain, there is hope. I believe that good things can come out of bad. For those suffering, I pray that you can find comfort and peace, that the memory of those lost bring smiles through your tears. I pray that the pain lessens so that you can move forward into a world with a new normal in the time you need, that you find a circle of people to lean on here on earth and also the Father’s shoulder to cry on in your soul. For those traumatized, I pray that you also find comfort and peace. That you can find balance again. I pray that all of you can find the blessings amidst the tragedy and the rays of hope and renewal that will arise from the debris.

I also continue to keep friends and family in prayer that are struggling with health issues of their own or their families. I pray that healing happens, that doctors and nurses are guided in all they do. That parents whom are watching their child struggling to grow stronger, take time to care for themselves as well. Children are a blessing no matter how long they are in this world – a minute, a week, a year, 100 years, a memory or even a thought of what could have been. My heart is with you all.

If you have prayer concerns or celebrations, please share them. I have seen the power of prayer in my life and in the lives of others.

If you are not comfortable sharing, know that the words in your heart and mind go straight to God and He hears them.  There are no wrong words or right words. He sent His only son, Jesus Christ, to earth – to be both God and man. To take our pain and our sorrow, to give us healing and grace. He knows anger and disappointment, He knows joy and happiness.

The most important thing to remember is that GOD LOVES YOU, no matter what you have done or not done, the love remains. He does not force it upon you, it is a gift for you to receive or not, it is your choice. That is how much He loves you, no matter how often you may deny Him or question Him, He will still love you.

Leave a Reply

